Kevin Smith has teased an update on Clerks III, saying he’s hoping to show the trailer at ComiCon. According to Comicbook, Smith expressed high enthusiasm for the upcoming film in a tweet, saying, “The @Lionsgate folks showed me a first pass of the CLERKS III trailer and I fucking LOVE IT! Trailer cutting is a storytelling art form entirely unto itself – and the artists behind what I saw have my respect and awe! Hoping I get to share it during my Hall H panel at ComiCon…” Clerks III finished filming in Fall 2021, and now Smith has given us the exciting hopes of a first look at the new film.

The @Lionsgate folks showed me a first pass of the CLERKS III trailer and I fucking LOVE IT!Trailer cutting is a storytelling art form entirely unto itself – and the artists behind what I saw have my respect and awe!Hoping I get to share it during my Hall H panel at ComiCon… pic.twitter.com/s82qcRH60S

— KevinSmith (@ThatKevinSmith) May 28, 2022

Clerks III Will Focus on Making Clerks

Clerks III will center on Randal Graves (Jeff Anderson) suffering a heart attack and feeling his life is meaningless. Wanting people to remember him when he dies, he sets to work on making a movie with his friend and co-worker Dante Hicks (Brian O’Halleran) about their lives working at the Quick Stop convenience store. Along with Anderson and O’Halleran, Jason Mewes and Smith himself will reprise their roles as Jay and Silent Bob. Rosario Dawson (Ahsoka) is reprising her role as Becky, who we last saw accepting Dante’s marriage proposal at the end of Clerks II. Trevor Fehrman will return as Elias from Clerks II. Finally, Marilyn Ghigliotti is returning as Veronica, Dante’s ex-girlfriend, who we haven’t seen since the original 1994 film. What will this mean for Dante and Becky? Time will tell.

Smith himself suffered a near-fatal heart attack in 2018, and the film is looking to be very personal for him. Smith has also been teasing a sequel to Mallrats for years, although that project is still taking time to move forward.

When Can We See Clerks III and the Trailer

If Kevin Smith gets his wishes, we may see the Clerks III trailer in July. The film is scheduled to be released in Fall 2022, though no date has been announced. Are you excited to possibly see this trailer? Share your thoughts at TheNerdStash’s Facebook page and @TheNerdStash on Twitter.